Annual Rice Scholarships Awarded

6 Feb 2012 4:11 PM - RGA announces winners for 2012

The Ricegrowers’ Association of Australia (RGA) has announced the recipients of their 2012 educational scholarship awards.

The Greg Graham Memorial Scholarship has been awarded to Laura Kaylock of Moulamein (Wakool Branch) to assist her to continue her studies at Charles Sturt University in Wagga.  Laura is studying a Bachelor Agricultural Science and frequently returns to the family farm to assist with farm work.  Her ambition is to continue to work in the rice industry, as well as gaining experience working as an agronomist.

RGAExecutive Director, Ruth Wade, said that Laura was chosen from fifteen applicants from the various branches of the Association.

“Laura won the award on the basis of her deep passion for rice farming, an intimate understanding of the industry, and commitment to return to the rice industry with skills that will be applied to benefit the industry as a whole. Given the outstanding quality of candidates this year, winning this scholarship is a fantastic achievement for Laura.”

Ms Wade said the scholarship honours the memory of Greg Graham, a previous President of the RGA, who died suddenly in 1983.

“Greg Graham worked tirelessly for rice growers and the community.  He was very active in his support of young people and the scholarship is a fitting memorial.”

Ms Wade also announced the winner of the Peter Connor Book Award. 

“This award was won by Nick Atkinson of Finley (Berriquin Branch).  Nick is studying a Bachelor of Agriculture and Business at La Trobe University in Melbourne.”

This award will assist Nick to purchase materials for his studies.

Ms Wade said the book award honours the memory of Peter Connor, a leading Coleambally rice grower, who passed away in 1984.  Mr Connor was actively involved in rice industry organizations and the Coleambally community prior to his death.

Ms Wade acknowledged the generous financial support from the McCaughey Memorial Institute and Rice Research Australia Ltd that makes the awards possible.