Annual Rice Scholarships Awarded

12 Feb 2013 10:27 AM - Greg Graham Memorial Scholarship & Peter Connor Book Award

The Ricegrowers’ Association of Australia (RGA) has announced the recipients of their 2013 educational scholarship awards.

The Greg Graham Memorial Scholarship has been awarded to Amy McAllister (Deniliquin Branch) to assist her to continue her studies at Charles Sturt University in Wagga.  Amy is studying a Bachelor of Agricultural Science and regularly returns to the family farm to assist with farm work.  Her ambition is to return to work in the Southern Riverina as an agronomist, as well as contributing to the running of the family farm.

Amy was chosen from eight applicants from the various branches of the Association.

The scholarship honours the memory of Greg Graham, a previous President of the RGA, who died suddenly in 1983. Greg Graham worked tirelessly for rice growers and the community.  Mr Graham was very active in his support of young people and the scholarship is a fitting memorial.

The Peter Connor Book Award was won by Alexandra Dalton (Mirrool Branch).  Alexandra is studying a Bachelor of Commerce at Sydney University and her ambition is to pursue business opportunities in agriculture and be an advocate for the rice industry.

The book award honours the memory of Peter Connor, a leading Coleambally rice grower, who passed away in 1984.  Mr Connor was actively involved in rice industry organisations and the Coleambally community prior to his death.

RGA acknowledges the generous financial support from Rice Research Australia Ltd that makes the awards possible.

Please click here to view full media release.