NSW Government declares more Natural Disaster Areas

12 Mar 2012 2:57 PM - 2012 Floods

Minister for Police and Emergency Services Michael Gallacher has today announced Natural Disaster Declarations for a further three Local Government Areas.

"This latest declaration applies to Leeton, Murrumbidgee and Upper Hunter Shires which have been affected over recent weeks," Minister Gallacher said.

"It brings the total number of Local Government Areas Declared Natural Disasters as a result of this weather event to 49.

This declaration triggers a number of disaster assistance schemes to assist with the cost of disaster relief and recovery. These disaster assistance schemes are made available by the NSW Government through the NSW Disaster Assistance Arrangements, and they are supported by the Commonwealth Government through the Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements.

To view the Minister's media release please click here.

Anyone needing help from the SES should contact their local SES unit on 132 500. In a life threatening emergency, always ring Triple Zero (000).

Natural Disaster Assistance Schemes

You can also click on this link to the NSW RAA website http://www.raa.nsw.gov.au/assistance/natural-disaster-relief/declarations to see if your area is one of those listed as a Natural Disaster area. If so you may be eligible for some relief assistance.

A range of schemes are available under the NSW Disaster Assistance Arrangements.

More information on the Natural Disaster Assistance Schemes

To view the relief packages available through NSW RAA click on this link http://www.raa.nsw.gov.au/assistance/natural-disaster-relief

or telephone NSW Rural Assistance Authority

Freecall: 1800 678 593
Calls to '1800' numbers from your home phone are free. Calls from a public phone and mobiles may be timed and attract charges.

Email: rural.assist@raa.nsw.gov.au

Road closures

For up to date information on road closures phone 132 701 or contact your local Council or visit  www.livetraffic.com .