Past Recipients


The Greg Graham Memorial Scholarship was awarded to

- 2020 George Payne from Coleambally

- 2019 Dominic Morona from Deniliquin

- 2018 Benjamin Seamer from Berriquin Branch

- 2017 Allister Clarke from Berriquin Branch.

- 2016 Jackson Byrnes from Hay Branch.

- 2015 Charleton Glenn from Wakool Branch


The Peter Conner Book Award was awarded to:

- 2020 Nicholas O’Connor from Deniliquin

- 2019 Annabel Arnold from Berriquin

- 2018 Dominic Morona from Deniliquin Branch

- 2017 Benjamin Seamer from Berriquin Branch.

- 2016 Jack Hogan from Coleambally Branch.

- 2015 Daniel Andreazza from Mirrool Branch.




Jan Cathcart Scholarship


Jan Cathcart Scholarship applications now open   
Women involved in the Australian rice industry and its related agricultural networks, are encouraged to apply for the 2021 Jan Cathcart Scholarship. On offer is financial assistance of up to $30,000 for tertiary study, along with significant opportunities for work experience in the rice sector.

The scholarship is an initiative of the SunRice Group in honour of Jan Cathcart and her invaluable contribution to the rice industry during her 43-year career with the company.

Women from across the rice industry’s networks are encouraged to apply, or to nominate other eligible women who would benefit from the program.

Applications close on Monday 16 November 2020. Click here to apply. 

Pictured: Past Scholar Alexandra Morona, 2020.  

Greg Graham Memorial Scholarship and Peter Connor Book Award


Applications for the 2020 Scholarship are now closed.

Apply here

Interviews conducted early February each year.

 The award winners announced mid February each year.


The Greg Graham Memorial Scholarship (GGMS) is valued at $10,000 and $3000 for the Peter Connor Book Award.  Since the awards were first introduced in 2001, 36 agriculture students have benefited from the generosity and foresight of SunRice, Rice Research and rice industry supporters. In response, most of these students have returned to our communities and farms with leading edge knowledge to help strengthen and rejuvenate our agricultural industry. 


This financial support helps alleviate financial pressures, purchases the bulk of textbooks, and facilitates greater focus on university study. It also enables students to move away from home and study at a time when otherwise this may not be possible, particularly during drought years and other times of hardship.


In 2018 the Greg Graham Memorial Scholarship eligibility criteria was expanded to include the rice growers who are non-RGA members to ensure the scholarship attracts more applicants and generates  greater goodwill for the whole rice industry. In 2019 the eligibility was further modified to broaden the rice industry awards to support more recipients.


The eligibility criteria for the Greg Graham Memorial Scholarship is now:

  • Applicants must be the child or grandchild of a current financial member of RGA; and/or the child or grandchild of an A-Class share holder.
  • Applicants must be in their second or successive year of studying an agricultural focused and/or industry related course at an Australian tertiary institution; and
  • Applicants need to demonstrate a commitment to the rice industry.
  • Recipients of the Jan Cathcart Scholarship are ineligible for the GGMS.
  • Recipients of the Peter Connor Book Award are eligible for GGMS.
  • Recipients who have previously be awarded a GGMS are ineligible for the Peter Connor Book Award.


A bit of background about the awards….

The Greg Graham Memorial Scholarship (GGMS) was set up to assist the agricultural education of members of the Ricegrowers’ Association; or their family, to assist in studying a full-time, agriculturally-based course at any Australian tertiary institution.

The Peter Connor Book award was introduced at the same time; in conjunction with the Greg Graham Memorial Scholarship, to the runner-up for the purchase of books

The scholarships are named after two past leaders of the rice industry. Greg Graham was president of the RGA in 1983 and had served as Secretary of the Deniliquin Branch of the RGA, was Chairman of the Southern Riverina Irrigation Districts Council, a Councillor for the Shire of Murray and a Member of the Murray Region Development Board.  He was also one of the driving forces behind the establishment of the NSW Irrigators’ Council.  Greg had a great admiration and confidence in the future of young people and this scholarship recognises the dedication, commitment and humility of this good man.

Peter Connor was a leading rice grower in the Coleambally district and served as Vice President of the Coleambally Branch and delegate to the RGA’s Central Executive between 1975 and 1982.  Peter was also a Director of the Ricegrowers’ Cooperative Mills Ltd.

 The Scholarship was not available in 2008, but in 2009 it resumed with the generous support of the McCaughey Memorial Institute and Rice Research Australia Ltd.